top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTamago Walks

Tekka to table

Updated: Oct 22, 2018

1. Why would you go to Tekka market instead of the grocery?

Christine: I love how clean the grocery is, but that's exactly the charm of wet markets - the life in their mess

Yeshi: I think this is one of the bigger wet markets in Singapore. The other one I visited before is Geylang Seria market. It's more interesting to explore wet markets, listening to the bargaining, realizing there are more options ahead after ... And one good thing is that you can always try haggling.


2. Did you go straight to the wet market section when you got there?

Christine: No, I got distracted by the ham ching pengs (fried red bean buns) so I had to eat first

Yeshi: Ya, we are always distracted by food.


3. What can you see inside Tekka market?

Christine: As with all wet markets, there was a lot of fresh produce - from vegetables to meat. Among my favorite finds were buah keluaks (the key ingredient in my favorite Ayam Buah Keluak - seen in our video) and rojak flowers (see below)

Yeshi: It's similar to the wet markets in China that I used to go to with my family. But there was still something different in this particular market. I was surprised to see banana leaves stacked up like a little mountain.



4. Was it smelly?

Christine: Definitely.

Yeshi: Especially in the seafood and meat section.


5. Did you go there to buy something in particular?

Christine: Yeshi planned to cook her dad's fried rice recipe so we had a list of things to buy!

Yeshi: Here you go if you want the list: choy sum, egg, sausage, ginger and scallion.

Christine: Don't forget cold, overnight rice! Makes the best fried rice. Oil and butter too!


6. Is there anything else at Tekka market aside from the wet market?

Christine: It's also a hawker center, and I noticed an alarming number of Biryani stalls with large pots full of rice. I wonder how they mixed such large volumes

7. What did you do after going to the market?

Christine: We went back to my place and Chef Yeshi started cooking!


8. Did Yeshi make a mess while cooking?

Christine: She managed to spray multiple grains of rice on the floor. But it was okay, of course. Little sisters are allowed to create a mess.

Yeshi: That's because we added a lot of ingredients and they jumped out of the pan! And I definitely cleaned them after cooking. But the ants still came.



9. What did you eat the fried rice with?

Christine: I fried some sausages and asparagus to go with it. Yeshi's fried rice was awesome, and the sausages went well with it.


10. How do you get to Tekka Market?

Christine: It's right at Little India! Take Exit C from the MRT.




58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page