top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTamago Walks

Out for meat at a veggie center

Updated: Apr 25, 2019

1. Where did you go this time?

Yeshi: Fortune Center. I always pass by this building when I go to Bugis, but I've never went in.


2. What's in Fortune Center?

Yeshi: FORTUNE! hahaha. Actually it's a place full of vegetarian restaurant. There are more than 11 vegetarian eateries. And I saw a vegetarian cake shop! Maybe the fortune will come to you after eating.

Christine: The low-key Japanese izakaya I've been wanting to try.



3. Did you go for veggies?

Yeshi: Er... In fact, we went to an izakaya called Nobu-ya.


4. Why are you interested in this restaurant?

Yeshi: Christine told me about it and there is a secret about how to successfully reserve a table there.

Christine: The secret is to always say "yes" when they ask if you're drinking.



5. What did you eat?

Yeshi: Tamagoyaki (egg roll) of course! This is Tamago Walks! We also ordered edamame to go together with our Sapporo beer. Tuna sashimi, mentaiko, oumi tataki (beef) and a meat stew.


6. What's the best among your orders?

Yeshi: It's definitely oumi tataki for me. It's a slightly grilled sliced beef sashimi, so it's half cooked. It's soft and the fat portion of the meat was just nice.

Christine: I agree with Yeshi - I'll add in the beer!




7. Do you like this izakaya?

Yeshi: Yes, I like it's furnishing style. The wooden long table with the open kitchen made me feel like I'm in the scene of 'Midnight Food Store'. The also put some of the dishes like the stew on the table, and you can just order by pointing.

Christine: I love that it's located in such a dodgy place and only regular patrons (as well as bloggers ohwell) know of this. I would think it's pretty popular with the students around the area.


8. What else did you discover in this place?

Yeshi: We went up to explore the hidden part of the building as usual, which I won't dare to do by myself haha. I like going to the carpark in a building, we took a few photos there. The building was dark inside, but there were a lot of interesting subjects to photograph.





9. What else did you do after the meal?

Yeshi: We walked to Dhoby Ghaut and I wanted to show Christine a store selling vintage toys, but it was closed already.


10. You must have had desserts after this, right?

Yeshi: Yess... Our stomachs have to end with something sweet haha. We ate cakes in Somerset.

Christine: You can always count on that!



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page