top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTamago Walks

Eat some spinach and pick your diamond at Mackenzie Road

Updated: Sep 29, 2018

1. Have you done bouldering before?

Yeshi: Not at all!

Christine: Nope!


2. How did you start without any previous experience?

Yeshi: We signed up for an introduction class. Gary was our instructor, he showed us the basic principles involved in bouldering and guided us to do some basic climbing.

Christine: Someone motivated me to try bouldering, it looked like a fun sport anyway. So I asked Yeshi to sign up with me for a Bouldering for Beginners class. And Gary, our coach, was very nice and motivating!




3. How did you feel?

Yeshi: It's tiring actually. I wish I was able to eat a can of spinach and become like Popeye lol! But it's amazing, you'll notice that you'll end up 'waking up' some muscles in your body, which is refreshing.


4. What was the most difficult part for you?

Yeshi: During my first time, my hands kept sweating, (maybe out of being nervous? I don't know) and made it harder for me hold the grips. And learning how to use your energy efficiently is also not that easy for me. It seems easy for Gary to climb from here to there, but when it's your time, it's totally different!

Christine: Fighting gravity.





5. Do you think you ended up liking bouldering after this?

Yeshi: Yes, it's a challenging sport, but encouraging as well. I think one of the most important things in bouldering is to persist. Hang in there, and keep trying.

Christine: I bought a multi-pass already for me and Yeshi.


6. Where is this place?

Yeshi: It's called OYEYO Boulder Home, it's near Christine's new place.

Christine: It's like a boutique bouldering gym. But don't be fooled by the size, there's a lot of routes to try!


7. Will you go for a second time?

Yeshi: We did already! And the second time felt much better, though I still have soreness the next day.


8. Any tips for this sport?

Yeshi: Pay attention to your body during the first try. I think I actually had some muscle strains on my neck and shoulder after the first time, and it took some time to recover.

Christine: Keep going at it.


9. What else is near this place?

Yeshi: Tekka market! Stay tuned to our following post for more stories. And the original Old Chang Kee is also here.

Christine: Everything. lol, I love my new address.




10. What did you eat after bouldering?

Yeshi: I finally had a chance to eat Christine's pasta! Watch the video to find out what she cooked!

Christine: And I made sure Yeshi had her fill of spinach.




50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page