top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTamago Walks

Night Walk at Little India

Updated: Sep 29, 2018

1. When did you go there?

Yeshi: We went there during a workday after school, around Deepavali 2017.


2. What is Deepavali?

Yeshi: It's one of the major Hindu festivals here in SG, a celebration to mark the triumph of good over evil.



3. Did you go there to join the celebration?

Yeshi: Not exactly, I didn't know this festival until I came to SG. Since it's also known as the "Festival of Lights", we went to for photography.

Christine: I wanted to take Yeshi there since she hasn't been. Of course, mostly to let her eat more authentic Indian fare and to do night photography.


4. Did you eat dinner there?

Yeshi: Yes. We planned to eat momos there. Momos are dumplings that Christine ate in Nepal and highly recommended. And we found a restaurant that has momos.

Christine: Yes I absolutely love momos. They're the indian version of dumplings and I love the acahar they serve it with in Kathmandu.



5. How was the momo?

Yeshi: It looked like the steam dumplings in China. It tasted alright, but Christine said it is not as good as those in Nepal haha.



6. What else did you eat?

Yeshi: We ate naan, which is the best of the day! And a yoghurt cucumber salad (raita) and grilled chicken.




7. What were you doing?

Yeshi: Holding my camera on the bicycle because of my laziness to bring the tripod.


8. Why do you have so many bags?

Yeshi: A Bag for camera and a bag for daily life. There should be one more bag for the tripod which I gave up bringing in the end.


9. Any interesting thing that happened?

Yeshi: While I was holding my camera to take photos of the light, because I was doing long exposure, it might be a bit weird for others. (Because I am standing there without moving). Then, suddenly I realized that this taxi uncle had stopped his car in front of me to say hi.




10. Did you buy anything?

Yeshi: We ended the 'tour' by buying LED fairy lights in a special market. We were tempted to try photography using fairy lights at that time because of Brandon Woelfel.

Christine: Lights for fairies.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page